books · Contemporary · Detectives · review

Review: Beastly Bones by William Ritter

28110859

So, I wasn’t lying when I said I ordered the second book in the series immediately after finishing Jackaby.

In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never quite what they seem, especially when Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, are called upon to investigate the supernatural. First, members of a particularly vicious species of shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens. A day later, their owner is found murdered, with a single mysterious puncture wound to her neck. Then, in nearby Gad’s Valley, dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing, and an unidentifiable beast attacks animals and people, leaving their mangled bodies behind.  Soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, a monster, and a murderer.

This sounded so exciting, oh my word. The Jackaby series is a really interesting series. It’s a detective series but with supernatural elements, and it’s right up my alley. The story isn’t written very well, just like the first book, but it was enjoyable as heckies. The first half was extremely slow, though it read quite fast, so before it got to actually solving the murder, the book was almost finished. That was a big shame. I enjoyed it, but I wanted a bit more from the story.

Now about my biggest pet peeve about this series so far, Abigail doesn’t have the “I’m not like other girls” trope anymore. Instead, it’s transferred to a different character. I hope that in the third book stops this silly trope, because nobody is waiting for this. Honestly, it’s annoying, but annoying enough to stop reading the series.

Just like the first one, this isn’t a great book, but so incredibly enjoyable. I’m waiting for the paperback of the next book to come out, so I can buy it immediately. I can’t deal with the fact that I own the first two in paperback and then should buy the next one as a hardcover.

Leave a Reply

