books · Contemporary · historical fiction · review

Review: Jackaby by William Ritter

24001101

I don’t often read books that are newly written, it’s not like I’ve got anything against it, but I just don’t read it. But then I came across Jackaby. Ok, it’s historical fiction, but it did intrigue me.

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities–with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane–seem adamant to deny.

I really enjoyed the concept of Jackaby, I really love supernatural things and detective work (obviously…) and I really loved that they used more uncommon supernatural beings, not just the usual ghosts and spirits. The plot was kind of obvious, which was a shame, but I didn’t really expect anything different from a contemporary book, and yes I know it’s really pretentious of me to say so!

You can tell that the author was inspired by the original Sherlock Holmes, because they both read the same way and act the same way. That didn’t bother me so much though, because you can tell they aren’t the same person and the stories are completely different. I was more annoyed by the main character, Abigail. She was written as the “I’m not like other girls” girl, and it’s so incredibly annoying. I really hope she improves in the second book, because this book was fun enough for me to actually order the second book!

The story isn’t special, the writing isn’t great, but it’s really fun to read, and to me that’s the most important thing. I really can’t wait for the second book to arrive in my mailbox and to read it!

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

