review

Reading Wrap Up: July 2017

July is an exciting month, because it’s my birthday month! Luckily, I’ve been reading a little bit more this month, so here we go!

31134157Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie

Short stories aren’t really a priority in my life. That’s probably why I haven’t finished the Sherlock Holmes series yet, but I did really like this one by Agatha Christie! The stories weren’t really memorable, but they were enjoyable, and that’s what’s most important to me. I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

28925235Rejected Princesses by Jason Porath

I’m not going to lie, a female history (herstory if you follow RuPauls Drag Race) book written by a man, didn’t give me any high hopes. I was wrong. So wrong. Oh my god I was wrong. This book is amazing, I forced my boyfriend to read it and I told him this book will be the nighttime routine book if we ever have kids. It has trigger warnings, which is amazing, it is funny, which is great (I mean how many books do you know that make fun of mansplaining? Yeah same.), the stories are great and actual factual! I didn’t really care for the art style of this book, I preferred the one in Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, but this book is amazing, and a necessary read for everyone. Be warned though, this book is insanely heavy! I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

23287158Audrey at Home by Luca Dotti

Audrey Hepburn is one of my only idols in life. I’m not one to gush over people, or be a fan of them, but Audrey is the exception. And a cookbook written by her own son? I had to have it! My favourite part about the book (apart from the amazing photo’s), is that it has one of my favourite Dutch dishes in it! The one downside to this book is that it kept referring to the Netherlands as Holland, which is so incredibly wrong I just can’t get my head around why people keep doing this. Anyhow, this book is amazing if you are an Audrey Hepburn fan who loves to cook! Great recipes and great fun to read. I gave this book 5 (!!!) stars on Goodreads.

6687860The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I haven’t read a proper children’s creepy book in ages! My last attempt was Doll Bones, which was a horrible, horrible fail. But this book made it worth it. It was an amazingly fun story, a really quick read, and something completely new! This was just like all the books I read as a child, I had this creepy book phase for a few years and this book was just as great as my favourite Dutch authors.  I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

