books · Detectives · review

Review: Miss Silver Comes to Stay by Patricia Wentworth

1440134

I was so absorbed by my goal to read all the Poirot books, that I completely forgot about Miss Silver. Shame on me!!!

When James Lessiter returns to Lenton after many years to claim his family estate, his reappearance opens old wounds never healed. Then he is found bludgeoned to death by a fire poker and the suspects are too numerous to count. Thank heavens Miss Silver is in town to visit a friend.

The beginning of this story was a bit slow, but once you get to the first murder, everything gets really interesting. I was SURE a certain person was the murderer, but they weren’t and I’m still pissed about it. I really wanted this person to be the murderer, but alas! I was wrong.

Honestly, I forgot how fun the Miss Silver series is. They are so cute and fluffy, and I know, that’s not really what you want from a detective, but it’s really nice to read a detective with really cute couples in it. All of the Miss Silver mysteries (at least the ones I have read) have really cute romances in it, which isn’t my favourite thing in the world, but they just FIT in the stories. They are always really subtle and really cute, so I’m all here for it.

This story was fun, a bit slow in the beginning, but if you keep digging at it, it’s a great detective!

You can buy this edition here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

