books · Detectives · review

Review: Peril at End House by Agatha Christie

28670385

I might have complained about the Big Four, but this Poirot really redeemed itself!! But before I go on about how amazing this book is, I’ll explain what it’s about.

Nick Buckley was an unusual name for a pretty young woman. But then she had led an unusual life. First, on a treacherous Cornish hillside, the brakes on her car failed. Then, on a coastal path, a falling boulder missed her by inches. Later, an oil painting fell and almost crushed her in bed. Upon discovering a bullet-hole in Nick’s sun hat, Hercule Poirot decides the girl needs his protection. At the same time, he begins to unravel the mystery of a murder that hasn’t been committed. Yet.

Pardon me, but how can you not want to read this book after that summary??
I was in a bit of a slump after having finished the Big Four and hating it, so I didn’t go into this one quite as happy as I usually do, but as soon as the first attempted murder happened, I was hooked. This is such a great Poirot book, and in my opinion waaaaaay better than the Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I honestly believe that Peril at End House deserves more appreciation than that one.

I was on the edge of my seat the entire time and I did not know who the attempted killer was, I did have a hunch at one point, but brushed it to the side BUT I WAS RIGHT!!!! I love it when a detective makes you doubt your own ideas as to who the murderer is, it makes the ending so much better, in my opinion.

If you haven’t noticed yet, I loved this one, and I really recommend you reading Peril at End House, it really brought back my love for Poirot. I usually don’t rate detectives more than 3 stars, because on average, all detectives are the same, but I loved this one so much I gave it 4 stars!

You can buy this edition here!

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

