books · Detectives · review

Review: the Big Four by Agatha Christie

31134047

As we all know, I love Poirot, and my goal is to read them all this year! A few weeks ago I read the Big Four, and was it as good as the others?

Framed in the doorway of Poirot’s bedroom stood an uninvited guest, coated from head to foot in dust. The man’s gaunt face stared for a moment, then he swayed and fell. Who was he? Was he suffering from shock or just exhaustion? Above all, what was the significance of the figure 4, scribbled over and over again on a sheet of paper? Poirot finds himself plunged into a world of international intrigue, risking his life to uncover the truth about ‘Number Four’

I really didn’t like this Poirot book, to be fairly honest. I wouldn’t say I hated it, because I did finish it and I’m pretty easy with DNF’ing books, but this is by far the worst Poirot of them all. I thought it could’ve been because it’s an earlier Poirot, considering I didn’t like the Murder of Roger Ackroyd either, but I’m not sure. The story is just so highly predictable and boring, and trying too hard to be a sensation. I prefer the other books by a long shot. I  really wouldn’t recommend you reading this one, unless you want to read them all, and I especially don’t recommend it if you want to start with the Poirot books, because this one really doesn’t give a great representation of how great Poirot actually is.

If you do want to buy this book, you can get it here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

One thought on “Review: the Big Four by Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

