books · Detectives · review

Review: Hickory Dickory Dock by Agatha Christie

9780008129552

I’ve been going strong with my resolution to read all of the Poirot Books this year! What I’ve noticed so far, is that not all the Poirot books are of the same amazing quality, some are a bit boring or predictable (ahum the murder of Roger Ackroyd ahum) and others are actually quite amazing. In what category did this one end up in?

Normally, a mere outbreak of petty thefts in a youth hostel wouldn’t be enough to interest the great detective Hercule Poirot. However, the warden of the hostel is sister to Poirot’s secretary Miss Lemon, and concern for her sister is interfering with Miss Lemon’s typing abilities. Poirot finds himself with an intriguing puzzle on his hands, and before long, murder increases the mystery.

I absolutely loved this Poirot book! It kept me wondering all the way through, as it should, the characters were really well written and quite diverse, and the story line was really great. Like I mention quite often, I’ve got ADD and can’t finish books quickly, but I finished this one in a day or two, which shows you how much I got absorbed by the book.

If you want to start with detectives or Poirot, this is a great one to start with! Definitely one of my favourite Poirot’s thus far!

You can buy it here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

