review · Wrap up

Reading Wrap Up: April 2017

So it’s been one of those months where I read a lot of Nancy Drew. Like, all that was left in these beautiful editions I’ve been reading. So, a great reading month for me, but not that interesting in diversity!

24876002the Secret of Red Gate Farm by Carolyn Keene

The Secret of Red Gate Farm was definitely interesting, crazy cults and sheet wearing counterfeiters. However, this has been one of my least favourite Nancy Drew’s, to the point I kind of felt like not reading any for a little while… It isn’t bad perse, I just liked the other Nancy Drew stories better! Don’t skip this one though, if you want to read all the Nancy Drew books. I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

31134195Lord Edgware Dies by Agatha Christie 

This has been a fun Poirot book once again! It wasn’t the best, perhaps because it’s one of the early ones, but it was really enjoyable. I liked the story so much that I read it in two days. It’s really funny to me that so many people thought this book to be a masterpiece, which it isn’t, it was interesting, but Agatha Christie wrote better Poirot books, after a while you got the clue and knew how the story really went. It did keep me wondering for a while and it made me suspect quite a few people, which was something new for me!
I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

24876003the Clue in the Diary by Carolyn Keene

Like I said, I got in a bit of a Nancy Drew slump, but I persevered and finished number 7 a few days afterwards! It was okay, so far one of the most intriguing ones, with a very interesting story line and mysteries. It really got me out of the Nancy Drew slump! I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

24876004Nancy’s Mysterious Letter by Carolyn Keene 

 Here we are with the last Nancy Drew in this edition! This story was definitely interesting. Nancy gets mixed up in a mistaken identity mystery. This is one of the books that really gives a 50s feel to the story, Nancy goes to a college together with her two friends Bess and George to be with their boyfriend’s, and that’s something quintessential 1950s, which I found really amusing. Not the best of Nancy Drew’s stories, but it was fun! I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

4569906A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare  

It took me about a YEAR to finish this one. I’m not used to reading plays and I have noticed that I’m not a big fan of reading plays. I actually need to read them aloud, otherwise I don’t understand what’s going on at all! It was fun to read, but I don’t think I’ll be reading anymore Shakespeare for a while. I gave this 3 stars on Goodreads.

28110859.jpgBeastly Bones by William Ritter

I told y’all I ordered the other book in the series as soon as I finished Jackaby? This book is like the other one, badly written but so amazingly addictive. I wanted to order the 3rd book immediately, but unfortunately the paperback won’t come out until August!!! The story was quick, but I felt like the ending was a bit rushed. All in all, it was an extremely enjoyable book and I really can’t wait for the next two to read! I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads.

One thought on “Reading Wrap Up: April 2017

Leave a Reply

