books · Detectives · review

Review: Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie

9780007556878

So, if you have read my Reading Goals for 2017 post, you may have noticed that one of my goals is to read all the Poirot books. Some of you might wonder as to why, but Dead Man’s Folly is one of the many reasons why.

Sir George and Lady Stubbs, the hosts of a village fete, hit upon the novel idea of staging a mock murder mystery. In good faith Ariadne Oliver, the well known crime writer, agrees to organise their murder hunt.

Despite weeks of meticulous planning , at the last minute Ariadne calls her friend Hercule Poirot for his expert assistance. Instinctively, she senses that something sinister is about to happen….

I didn’t think I would love this story as much as I did. The funny thing is, it kind of reminded me of the Nancy Drew books? The story is ridiculous and Poirot doesn’t do much, but it’s a funny, quick and wonderful read. It kept me wondering through out, which is what I want from a detective! I didn’t know who the killer was right up until the end. Well, I might’ve guessed it, but there was a big plot twist that I completely did NOT see coming at all.

Dead Man’s Folly is my favourite Poirot thus far. And  I totally recommend you reading this one! It’s a great first detective and a great first Poirot, but even if you are a seasoned detective reader it’s a great one. All in all, just read the damn book!

You can buy it here!

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

