books · review · Wrap up

Reading Wrap Up: March 2017

So, I decided to start tracking my reading wrap up. Especially because I read eight (!!!!) books this month and I’m not sure I will write reviews for all of them. Now, I’ve been in the biggest reading slump, I usually get this in the winter, I’m more a summer reader. But enough talking, let’s start discussing the books I read in the month of March!

24876001.jpgNancy Drew and the Secret of Shadow Ranch

I probably say this about every single Nancy Drew I have read, but the Secret of Shadow Ranch is my absolute favourite of them all (so far).
Nancy follows an old cowboy romance mystery and, oh yeah, ghost horses that foreshadows bad things happening. The story itself isn’t original, but most Nancy Drew stories aren’t, but it’s an enjoyable and really sweet story, and I really wished it had some more chapters about our lovely 1800s cowboy couple. Honestly, the story reminded me a lot of the movie Holes, so if you adored that movie, maybe check this one out too! I gave it 4 stars on goodreads.

7698899.jpgWitchcraft: a very short introduction by Malcolm Gaskill

I love history, I always enjoyed reading about the witchcraft mania in school, and thought I would want to learn more about it! When I read the book, it was quite enjoyable. It was a quick read, which are my favourites, but now that I’m a month further in life, I can’t actually remember anything about what I read? Which is rather unfortunate, but maybe that’s just my shoddy memory, but still… I gave this book 3 stars on goodreads.

18112225.jpgArthur Murray’s Popularity Book

As we all know, I love old books, especially mid century ones. Especially life guides and the like. They give such a great insight of the time! As I don’t have a lot of friends, I bought this book as kind of a joke (“Look, now even I can have friends!”) but I really did not enjoy this book. There were some articles that are really interesting, but almost 80% of this book is about dancing and how to dance. I didn’t know this going in, and it was really unfortunate, because I just didn’t care. If you enjoy dancing, then this is a good book for you, but otherwise you can skip it. I gave this 2 stars on Goodreads.

24395624.jpgVintage Hairstyles by Emma Sundh and Sarah Wing

Speaking of vintage loving, here’s another book about how to be beautiful. As you guys probably know, I LOVE the Style Me Vintage book series, but guys… I think this book is even better. Wow. Did I really say that??? Who am I???
This book shows you not only great hairstyles, but also some background on makeup, eyewear, accessoires… It’s the full package. This book is extremely helpful if you are just starting out, but it’s also a great book for someone who’s more “seasoned”, because the hairstyles in the book are different than the usual hairstyles that people offer you. This is really an amazing book that I recommend to anyone who wants to read more about the vintage aesthetic! I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads.

6733384Decline of the English Murder by George Orwell

Would this be a monthly wrap up without a book about murder? No. Just no. This is my first George Orwell book I have ever read, and it was really interesting! This book is filled with several essay’s about all kinds of things. I thought the book would literally just be about murder, but it isn’t! I really enjoyed the writing style and I thought it was quite funny as well. I am really going to check out more of his books, considering so many of his are classics. I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

28670385.jpgPeril at End House by Agatha Christie 

Again, in the same trend, would this be one of my wrap ups if there wouldn’t be a Poirot book? Like I said before, my favourite detectives are the ones where I can’t guess who the murderer is, and this was definitely one of those! At one point I did start thinking: “Hmm… could be X the murderer?” but I quickly but that to the side, but DAMN, IT WAS X. The story was really interesting, was fun to read and it was a quick read! Really one of my favourite Poirot books thus far.  I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

1440134.jpgMiss Silver Comes to Stay by Patricia Wentworth 

I bought this book a year ago in Oxford while shopping. My friend said I should buy it because the woman on the cover looked like me. Totally appreciating that compliment. I forgot how much I enjoyed Miss Silver, for some silly reason. I’ve been reading so much Poirot, I forgot how great the Miss Silver books are! This one was a lot of fun to read, it kept me wondering and I didn’t know who it was for a long time. The Miss Silver series is a great fluffy series for starters! I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

24001101.jpgJackaby by William Ritter

And last, but not least, Jackaby by William Ritter. I felt like reading a more contemporary book, even though it’s historical fiction. I got really interested in this book, because it was said as a paranormal Sherlock Holmes, and it’s definitely that. The book wasn’t great, but it was really enjoyable. The maincharacter annoyed me quite a bit, because she was written like the “I’m not like other girls” trope, which was really stupid. The story was really interesting, and I actually really enjoyed it. It was a really quick read and it kept me interested all the way, which is quite hard for most books. I will definitely read the other books in the series!  I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

This was my reading wrap up for the month of March! What was your favourite book for the month?

Leave a Reply

