books · review

Review: Dangerous Days in Elizabethan England by Terry Deary

20160810_190541

As you guys probably now by now, I’m a huge Horrible Histories fan, and knowing that Terry Deary has written an adult version of the series is probably the best thing I have realised this year.
I haven’t read much about Elizabethan England, so this book was an interesting one for me! But, I was quite disappointed, if I’m really honest.

20160810_190548.jpg

It isn’t a bad book at all, it’s just like the other ones in the series, but I was annoyed by the lack of Elizabeth in this book. This book was about the era she reigned, but I have learned more about her siblings and her father than about her, and that annoyed me to no end.
When I read a book about Elizabethan England, I want to learn something about her as well, but she played such a minor role in her own era, which was an amazing era in it’s own right.

I learned lots about the normal every day people in the Elizabethan era, and I did really enjoy reading this book, so it’s hard for me to review this. I was disappointed because I KNOW Terry Deary can do better than this.
I still gave this book three stars because it is greatly written, funny, and informative.
If you want to start reading the Dangerous Days books, start with this one because this one is the lesser one of the three that I have read so far. But it’s really a book to read if you are a Terry Deary fan or if you want to read a fun history book.

You can buy this book here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkyg

Leave a Reply

