books · Detectives · review

Review: the Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

20160705_132514

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is one of the THE Poirot novels you should read. At least, that’s what I’ve been told, did I like it as much as the hype would make me believe I would love it?

20160705_132520.jpg

I was REALLY excited to read this one. It is apparently the most famous Poirot novel and it disappointed me so much. It was so obvious who was the killer. Ok, I have spend more than half my life solving them through series and books, but damn. DAMN. Way too predictable.

Well, I think the hype ruined it for me. Why would this one be so famous? You knew you had to think outside of the box, and that’s what ruined it. I knew I had to do that so  I guessed it right who did it in about halfway through the book. Shame.

It’s still greatly written, it’s still a good Poirot novel, it’s still a good Agatha Christie, I just liked to be left wondering or have a shock at the ending. Definitely not a book to skip though! I just hope it doesn’t get ruined for you like it did for me.

You can buy it here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

3 thoughts on “Review: the Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

