books · children's books · review

Children’s Book Sunday: the Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

20161016_132650

I work as a volunteer at my local library. Which provides me with free books if I want to read them. I was looking through our little children’s section and came across this one, the Day the Crayons Quit has been high on my to-buy list, but I couldn’t justify the price of it. But here we are, I read it and I can tell you, it’s worth it’s price.

What is this picture book about?

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: We quit!

Beige is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown. Blue needs a break from coloring all that water, while Pink just wants to be used. Green has no complaints, but Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking to each other.

What is Duncan to do?

It is so incredibly adorable and funny, oh my god. Every page is a letter written by one of the crayons, and a picture in that colour. Mind you, the pictures I am showing you are all the Dutch version of this book, where they changed his name into Teun instead of Duncan. Basically, the crayons aren’t going to work for Duncan anymore until Duncan listens to their problems and makes the crayons feel better and appreciated for who they are.

20161016_132700

This story is so incredibly funny and so original, and I really can’t stop praising it. I forced my mum to read it as well, and keep telling everyone that they should, even if they don’t have children in their lives.

Though, I think this book is funnier for adults than it is for children. I can’t wait to buy this book for me, my nephews, my cousins, my friends and just anyone I feel like they need some crayon amazingness in their life. I can totally understand the hype it is getting, and you should definitely try to read it, and get in on the hype, too.

You can buy this book here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72us91qdlkyg

2 thoughts on “Children’s Book Sunday: the Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Leave a Reply

