drugstore · makeup · maybelinne · review

Lipstick Thursday: Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid in #25 Orange Shot

20160827_124231

This is another liquid lipstick, and I’m not going to waste much of our time on this one! I was really excited to try a drugstore liquid lipstick, I mean, who doesn’t like saving money on good products? I bought this one with almost high expectations. The NYX soft matte lip creams are really good, and they are fairly cheap, so Maybelline could do it too, right?

Short answer: no.

Longer answer: the good thing about this liquid lipstick is the colour, it’s really nice and it applies quite nicely too. It does have a scent to it, which smells kind of cheap and sweet. I don’t really know how to describe it, but it isn’t really good.

20160810_134909

It’s a nice soft colour, but it isn’t really opaque as you might possibly can tell. I’ve got this thing on my upper lip where it doesn’t take pigment on certain parts, and you can tell it’s slightly lighter on that part than the rest of my lips.
Now, my main issue with this is: it doesn’t dry down matte. It just doesn’t dry down at all. It stays quite glossy and it feels pretty drying too for something that’s glossy.

I don’t recommend getting this one and I doubt I will try any other colours in the line, when I buy something that claims to be matte, I WANT it to be matte, and not glossy and feeling like it’s going to dry my lips off. If you want something that’s actually matte, go for the NYX one, I can’t praise that one highly enough.

3 thoughts on “Lipstick Thursday: Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid in #25 Orange Shot

      1. I was at college too which didn’t help, but some of the other shades like the nudes and the dark purple did dry down and I couldn’t get them off so they’re definitely long wearing!😂

        Like

Leave a Reply

