books · classics · Detectives · review

Review: a Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

20160705_132327

I love the series Sherlock. I love the movie adaption of Sherlock Holmes. I love detectives. I love the Victorian Era. So why did I never READ the Sherlock Holmes series? So here we are, and I finished the first one in the series!

20160705_132335.jpg

Oh lordie. I loved it. I absolutely loved it. I mean, the story wasn’t that well written, but oh my god, did I love the story. Now, because I’m a huge Sherlock fan, I kept comparing this book to the first episode of Sherlock, and I can tell you, the book is better. The story behind the killer’s motive made me cry. It made me ugly cry. It was so real. It had so much love, so much real stuff, and it seemed plausible too.

I read some of the other Sherlock novels, but this one is the most beautiful one. I would definentely recommend you to start with this one, not just because it’s the first in the series [the good thing about detective novels is that you don’t NEED to read them in order], but because it leaves a lasting impression. As you probably read by my review of the Hound of Baskervilles, I can be pretty ruthless about Sherlock Holmes, so you can actually tell I like this one!

You can buy this one here.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

2 thoughts on “Review: a Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

Leave a Reply

