books · children's books · review

Children’s Book Sunday: Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

20160728_162305

Everyone knows about Mary Poppins. The Disney movie is still being watched today! So here I am talking about the book!

20160728_162313.jpg

As I’m an au pair myself,  I love books about nannies and governesses, because  I can relate to them. Well, relating to Mary Poppins is something you can’t really do, considering she’s magical.

I love the movie, and this book is a lot like the movie. There are quite a few stories in it that aren’t in the movie, and that what makes this a more enjoyable read. Mary Poppins in the movie is a lot nicer than the one in the book, but I would get bitter too if I had to take care of other people’s children all my life. But, knowing children I don’t really understand why they like her so much… Magical things happen and Mary Poppins shouts at them that they are making stuff up and are telling lies?? But maybe that’s just me!

I will be buying the other books in the series, because this was an enjoyable read, that I finished in a day. Kids will love the fantastical stories [I mean, the zoo story where all the animals start talking to the kids is hilarious] and it will whisk you away to Cherry Tree Lane.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

You can buy this book here.

Leave a Reply

