drugstore · makeup · review · sleek

Review: Sleek Matte Me in Rioja Red

20160704_133257

I swatched this in my local Boots in Oxford and loved this product. The colour was amazing and I couldn’t get the product off my hand for the life of me! This amazing staying power was the reason I bought this, but did it perform on my lips too?

Short answer: no.
Long answer: I was really excited to try this once we got home! I tried the NYX Soft Matte Lipcream and loved that, and wanted more matte liquid lipsticks. But when I tried to apply it to my face, the horror started.

20160704_133420.jpg

First of all, the applicator is really, really hard and not flexible at all. Which made applying this a lot more tricky than it should be. Without a lipliner underneath, you were doomed to fail. “But,” I thought, “that issue is helped with a lipliner, so that’s ok!”.I was wrong. Again.

20160704_133936.jpg

The application wasn’t only made hard by the applicator, the consistency of the product isn’t that great either. It applied rather gloopy and blotchy. It doesn’t give a nice even application. You need to reapply to get this sort of nice looking, which isn’t really what you want to do, spending 10 minutes on just your lips. The drying time on this seemed for ever. It didn’t dry down completely until about 5 minutes later. Which is also a bummer. When it dried too, it also appeared quite patchy. You could see parts of my lip, which is also not the look I am going for on a daily basis. The product itself feels quite drying too, which is unfortunate.

How about the weartime? Oh honey. Less than an hour. You could possibly get longer wear out of it, if you don’t eat, drink or talk. And when it wears off, it leaves that dreaded line around your lips. You know that line, that line where you can see your own lip colour when you talk, so it looks kind of gross when you open your mouth.

So yes, this is a horrible product. At least in this colour, and I do not recommend it! You are better off buying the NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream, they are way better!

4 thoughts on “Review: Sleek Matte Me in Rioja Red

  1. I’ve got the Matte Me in Birthday Suit and I think it is a lot better than this one. I only just touched on it on my recent Sleek Haul review but I kinda wish I wrote a more detailed analysis. I guess I haven’t been able to since I don’t wear it as much as I’d like to since the colour doesn’t work too well with my skin tone. Although, I will say that that one is not as dreadful as this one seems 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

