beauty · drugstore · review · skincare

Review: Simple Soothing Facial Toner

20160704_150441

When in the UK… you try out skincare brands you don’t have in your own country! So I bought myself some Simple Soothing Facial Toner.

Simple is a brand supposedly great for people with more sensitive skin, like me. So I was definitely interested to try this out. But boy do I NOT enjoy this.

What does this product promise?

Simple Soothing Skin Toner prepares the way for perfect moisturising and is essential for healthy and radiant skin.

Simple Soothing Skin Toner removes the last traces of make-up and cleanser and helps to clarify and refresh your skin.

Active Benefits

• Chamomile: gently soothes
• Witch Hazel: helps tone and tighten pores
• 100% alcohol free: non drying, leaves skin soft
• pH balanced: works in harmony with your skin

Simple wants your skin to look its best and be happy at all times, which is why all their products are formulated using no unnecessary additives and only the best ingredients.

  • No perfume.
  • No colour.
  • Dermatologically tested and approved.

Simple are experts in sensitive skin.
– taken from the Boots website

First of all, I think it stinks. It’s not that overpowering but it isn’t a nice smelling product. But hey, we can’t all like a scent. So I persevered.

The reason I use this, is to cleanse my face in the mornings, I don’t wash my face with water in the UK [there’s too much stuff that dries out my skin in that water!] and used a cotton pad and this to “wash” my face in the mornings. Though I double cleanse at night, sometimes there’s still some makeup left on my face that I’d like to to go away. Does this do that? Not at all.

collage.jpg

The first picture I added some lipproducts on my arm and let them dry for about a minute. The next picture, I wiped my arm with a cotton pad soaked in the toner, and wiped it once. As you can tell not a lot left my arm.
The 3rd picture is my arm after wiping it 10 times. It took about 10 vigorous wipes to get the stuff of my skin, and who has got time to wipe 10 times VIGOROUSLY to get makeup of your face? Not me.

It is gentle on my face yes, but it’s that gentle it doesn’t do anything for it. Nothing. So why buy it?

It’s a good thing I don’t live in the UK anymore, because I won’t be getting this again from the store. It just doesn’t do what I want it to do, and I can spend my money on better products.

2 thoughts on “Review: Simple Soothing Facial Toner

Leave a Reply

