books · children's books · review

Children’s Book Sunday: Heidi by Johanna Spyri

20160704_115631

Here we go again! Children’s Book Sunday! If you missed our first edition, you can go here and see what Children’s Book Sunday is. Without further ado, here’s my post about one of my favourite books of all time: Heidi.

If there was ever a book that reminded me of my childhood, it’s this one. Not just the beautiful Puffin in Bloom cover, but also the story itself.Well, to be fair, I didn’t start living with my grandpa on a mountain top herding goats, but still! The nostalgia overflows in this one.

This book is set in Switzerland, and as I mentioned, in the mountains.
Heidi gets taken by her aunt to live with her grandpa when she’s only a wee lass of four years old. The old man isn’t a favourite among the villagers, and the villagers feel extremely sorry for the child. Yet, Heidi thrives on the mountain, but gets send away to Germany to live with a physically disabled girl. Will Heidi ever get back home to the mountains?

This book is so great  I don’t even know where to start. At one point I read a line and I had to put the book down because I was crying so hard.

“You see, when something’s awfully bad, you don’t know about the good bit coming, and you think it’s going on for ever.”

That was my quote of choice to go on the back of the book, but they chose this one instead:

20160704_115639.jpg

This is a beautiful coming of age story, and I totally recommend reading this even if you aren’t a tiny human bean. The story is easy to read, easy to follow, and is a great story to tell to a child, but also a great one for a child to read themselves. I also gave this book four stars on Goodreads, and I’m honestly sad that there aren’t more books about Heidi! Yes, there are a couple written by the translator of the original Heidi book, but none written by Johanna Spyri, unfortunately!

 You can buy this book here.

One thought on “Children’s Book Sunday: Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Leave a Reply

