books · history · non-fiction · review

Review: Dangerous Days in Ancient Egypt by Terry Deary

20160620_134215

The non fiction history Gods are with me on this one! I was walking through the Oxford Waterstones when suddenly a wild Terry Deary book appeared! I’m pretty sure the gods were with me, because it was on the bottom shelf and I never look at the bottom shelf, basically because I can’t really bend that well. Anyways, here we are, and I’m basically screaming, because this book is GREAT.

This is a non fiction book about Ancient Egypt, if you hadn’t had guessed that yet. Does it really need a synopsis? Yes. Yes it does.

Ancient Egypt should be deader than most of our yesterdays. After all, it was at it’s height 5,000 years ago. Yet we still marvel at its mummies and ponder over its pyramids. It’s easy to forget these people once lived and laughed, loved and breathed… though not for very long. These were dangerous days for princes and peasants alike. In Ancient Egypt- a world of wars and woes, poverty and plagues- life was short. Forty was a good age to reach. A pharaoh who was eaten by a hippo ended up dead as a ditch-digger stung by a scorpion. Unwrap the bandages and you’ll find that the Egyptian’s bizarre adventures in life were every bit as fascinating as the monuments they left to their deaths. 

You must be wondering why I’m so excited about this book. Well, it’s easy, I’m a BIG Horrible Histories fan.
If you don’t know what they are, they are short children’s history books, written by Terry Deary, to explain history in a fun way. I own most of the books in English and a couple in Dutch, and I’ve read them multiple times. History is my favourite thing in the world, but so many non-fiction books are written incredibly boringly, and my ADD just doesn’t want to deal with that. Terry Deary writes these books with lots of jokes and humour and disguises facts as enjoyment. You are basically learning a lot of things without knowing you are, if that makes sense.
And then I saw this book. I never knew Terry Deary wrote history books for us older folk!
I nearly cried in the story, I’m not ashamed to say.

Now, how does this compare to the Horrible Histories books? This is exactly the same as the HH’s. Some of the information in this book, and some of the jokes, are taken literally from the Awesome Egyptians edition of the HH’s. Yet, this one goes way deeper. The Awesome Egyptians is the children’s version, Dangerous Days in Ancient Egypt is it’s big sister, that’s almost moving out of the house and start living a life of her own.
There’s so much information in here that I didn’t even know!
It discusses all of the pharaoh’s, when they reigned, how they were, when they died, etc. and this is really great, because usually books are about Tutankhamen a great deal and oh yeah, the there might have been some other ones too.  It even dedicated a whole chapter to Cleopatra (the famous one), which I approve of.
Unfortunately, it didn’t really mention the wive’s of these pharaohs, more often than not their own sisters, which to me personally, is quite a shame.

This book is a great to learn more about the Ancient Egyptians. It’s not my favourite period in history, but I did want to learn some more about it, and I definitely feel like I learned something from this book, those are my favourite kind of books.

If you want to read a non-fiction book about Ancient Egypte, but don’t want to read a boring, dry book, then this is one for you!

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

You can get this book here.

Leave a Reply

