books · children's books · review

Children’s Book Sunday: Anne of Green Gables

20160704_115649

I love children’s books. They are my favourite type of book. There’s something about them that make me feel happy and hopeful. Yet, I never talked about them on my blog! Hence Children’s Book Sunday started. Every Sunday I will be talking about some of my favourite children’s books! We all have some miniature humans in our life, so who knows? Maybe you’ll find their next birthday gift among them!

Today we are going to start with Anne of Green Gables. It’s become a classic of the years, and many children had to read this book in school. Unfortunately, the Dutch education system doesn’t “force” us children to read books, let alone classics. So, after 21 years, I bought this beautiful Puffin in Bloom edition (isn’t it to die for?!) and I started to read this. I didn’t know at all what it was about. I never watched the movies nor did I really hear anything about it here. And the backflap didn’t really help either:

20160704_115658.jpg

So, what is this book about? In this book we follow a little orphan girl named Anne (with an E!), by accident she gets adopted by the elderly siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, that live in Green Gables in Avonlea. The book is set in Canada, which was a first for me!
Marilla and Matthew wanted a boy to help on the farm, but because of certain circumstances, Matthew takes Anne home. We follow her and how she grows up in a small town, in a time where red hair is frowned upon, and little girls should always follow the norm!

Anne of Green Gables is a great book to show that just because you are different, that doesn’t mean that you are a bad person. Anne gets discriminated towards a lot, just because of her “odd” behavior and red hair [this is due to the fact that a lot of people frowned upon Irish people who were known for their red hair, the early 1900s were wild!]. We see Anne grow up, adjust herself to society, but also society adjusts to her.
You can’t but fall in love with Anne, and I really did. I didn’t have high expectations of this book, but I did give it four stars on Goodreads!

If you know a  miniature human who has issues with themselves, be it looks or behavior wise, this is a great book to show them that being yourself is the best thing about being you!

You can get this book here.

One thought on “Children’s Book Sunday: Anne of Green Gables

Leave a Reply

