beauty · high end · review · skincare

Review: Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

20160704_150238

I’ve been using the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate for nearly a year, so I think I’m qualified enough to talk about it! So here goes!

What does this product promise?

A replenishing nighttime facial oil with distilled botanicals that visibly restores the appearance of skin by morning.
Regenerates, restores, and replenishes skin for smoother, healthier skin
Works with the skin’s natural nocturnal activity – when skin is most receptive to repairing itself from daily aggressors – to dramatically restore skin
99.8% naturally-derived and paraben-free oil for face
A customer favorite

– Kiehl’s Website

Now, does this all do that? In my experience, no. So, what does it do for me?
Well, you should know I have extremely dry and sensitive skin. I get acne really easily, it gets dry and really red, and my skin in it’s natural state is just not a look I generally sport. But this serum makes my skin, really hydrated. Combined with my favourite night cream [the Lancôme Hydra Zen] it really has improved my skin. It’s a lot more moisterized and it doesn’t feel as tight and horrible anymore. My breakouts aren’t that massive as well! I’m less red, less patchy and I look more healthy in the face. But if it’s because of the serum… I’m not really sure.

My absolute favourite thing about applying this to my face, is the pipette. It makes me feel like a clever scientist, and who doesn’t want to feel clever?
20160704_150308.jpg

The product itself is clear, with a very slight yellow-ish tone to it.It smells herbly, but that doesn’t bother me. I need about 5 drops to cover my whole face, which I’ve been told is too much, but my skin drinks this up as soon as it hits the surface, I really need the five drops of it!

So is this the most perfect serum to exist? No. What I absolutely hate about this, is that the actual pipette falls apart so darn easily! I all ready went back to my Kiehl’s store to get a new one, because it kept falling apart. The new one keeps doing it too! It’s really annoying and really gross too. Especially for the price you pay for it, you expect the actual container to stay in one piece, you know?  This is the main reason why I am doubting whether I should repurchase when I run out. I love the product, but the fact it falls apart is a bit ridiculous. So who knows!

Do  I recommend it to you though? Yes, if you can afford it. I like to invest in my skin so I don’t mind spending lots of money on my skin, if it’s worth it. But you might not be the same way, or maybe you just can’t afford it! Luckily there are samples you can try of this, and there’s also a smaller version of this product! So go to your local Kiehl’s and ask for a sample, and give it a whirl!

2 thoughts on “Review: Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Leave a Reply

