books · Detectives · review

Review: The Silent Pool by Patricia Wentworth

silentpool

I love detective series on TV. I’ve been watching since I was a wee lass with my mother, and now I am brave enough to watch them on my own (though Whitechapel is still freaking me out…). Yet, I never even read detective novels? Now that I moved to the UK for a couple of months, I stocked up on detective novels! Everybody knows about Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, some might even know Dorothy L. Sawyers, but Patricia Wentworth? Let me tell you, she DEFINITELY belongs in this list!

I’m not going to lie, I bought the books in this series for the covers. What can I say? I’m a sucker for pretty and vintage looking covers! Unfortunately, this cover has nothing to do with the book, because there’s no one that’s that blonde in the book?
Though, I didn’t get disappointed with what’s on the inside. I love the Miss Silver series, and today I’m going to be talking about one of the Miss Silver books; The Silent Pool.

Short summary, taken from the backflap:
Adriana Ford has always enjoyed being the focus of attention. Until that focus seems to be centered on hastening her death. First she felt herself being pushed down the stairs. Then there was the poisoned mushroom soup. When she found her tablets tampered with, it was the last straw. She approaches Miss Silver discreetly and is given some sound advice, which she chooses to ignore. It’s only when one of her less successful friends is found murdered wearing her coat that Miss Silver is called in to investigate. 

Sounds interesting enough right? This book is fantastic. It gives the perspective from an outsider of the family, Janet, an old friend of one of the main characters, Star (she’s an actor and honestly if a name could ever be a foreshadowing of one’s career, her parents did well). There’s a little bit of lovey dovey moments with her and a different character ,whose name is Ninian, and that’s by far one of my favourite names for a character, but that’s what so great about Patricia Wentworth stories, there’s always some love, and always a happy ending. Even though several people get murdered, there’s always a happy couple in the end. Which is kind of disturbing in a way, but hey,  I like it!
There’s a lot going on in the story and you need to stay focused for it, but it really puts you in the detective spirit of trying to figure it out who did it! You really try to figure out who did it, and honestly I was a bit surprised, yet not shocked. I’m trying not to give anything away, but it’s so hard!! Just read the book, you’ll thank me for it later.

The perspective does change from chapter to chapter, you start with Miss Silver, and then it’s switched to several characters, including Janet. It gives more dimension  to the story, and keeps it from being dragged. A detective should keep you wanting to read more, not put it away because it’s getting tedious. Long story short: this one is great, and especially if you like women in the 40s and old little ladies that love to knit while they kick some murderer’s ass.

If you want to read a detective series with a happy ending and some lovey-dovey scenes, than this is the book for you!

Honestly read the miss Silver series they are great and majestic and in my opinion even better than the Lord Peter Wimsey series (I can’t believe I’m saying this Wimsey is my babe),so honestly you’ve got no excuse not to read it ok.

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

You can get this here.

One thought on “Review: The Silent Pool by Patricia Wentworth

Leave a Reply

