books · Detectives · review

Review: Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

I’ve always had a fascination with Murder on the Orient Express. I only ever heard of it, never read it, never saw anything in series about it, but I knew of it. So when I bought the book  I seriously had no idea what was going to happen. And gee, what a rollercoaster it was!

DSCN2790.JPG


Short summary: Hercule Poirot is trying to travel from Syria to Stamboul. Once there he gets a telegram that summons him back to London. After a lot of hassle, he can board the Orient Express, which is strangely full in the middle of winter. Then suddenly one of the passengers gets murdered. Who was the passenger? Who are the others? Who knows more? And who’s the murderer?

I really enjoyed the book, it’s a very light read and very enjoyable.
I have also noticed that my French is still OK, because Poirot speaks an awful lot of French in the book, and no it isn’t translated in English! It adds to the charm of the book though.
Once the murderer was revealed  I got really angry with myself because “WHY DIDN’T I NOTICE THIS???”.
The thing I don’t like about Detectives that it’s usually really really really clear whodunnit, but this one wasn’t like that at all, which is a huge plus.

If you are in need of an easy light detective novel, and you don’t mind a bit of French, this is really a book worthy to try out!

Score:
tumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkygtumblr_m7eim72US91qdlkyg

You can get this here.

Leave a Reply

